John Calipari, Dikembe Mutombo Highlight 2015 Hall of Fame Class



According to Elliot Smith of CBS Sports, the 2015 class of the Naismith Hall of Fame was announced on Monday.

Highlighting the class are none other than John Calipari of Kentucky, eight time NBA All-Star and shot-blocker Dikembe Mutombo, and three-time WNBA MVP Lisa Leslie. That is only three of the eleven members that are going to be enshrined in the Hall of Fame this year. Other inductees include: 39-year NBA Referee Dick Bavetta, four-time NBA All-Star Spencer Haywood, seven-time NBA All-Star Jo Jo White, and the five members who were announced during the NBA All-Star weekend(Louis Dampier, John Isaacs, Lindsay Gaze, Tom Heinsohn, and George Raveling).

The announcement was made in Indianapolis ahead of the NCAA Championship game that will begin later on Monday night. The finalists for the Hall of Fame needed 18 of 24 votes from the Honors Committee to be elected. This year’s class is full of some great contributors to the game we love, and Jerry Colangelo agrees: 

“The Class of 2015 is a group of outstanding individuals who represent many eras and facets of basketball,” said Jerry Colangelo, Chairman of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Board.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here