Raptors’ Lou Williams Wins 6th Man Award


Lou Williams

The NBA just announced it’s first winner of an end of season award today. Lou Williams of the Toronto Raptors has won the Kia NBA Sixth Man of the Year Award. This honor is given to the league’s best reserve player.

Williams is a 10-year veteran who was acquired from the Hawks last offseason. He came off the bench in all 80 games he played this year, averaging 15.5 points (career high) in 25.5 minutes per game. He received 502 points (78 first-place votes) from 130 sports writers from across the country. First place votes were worth five points, second place votes were three points and third-place votes were only worth one point. Isaiah Thomas of the Boston Celtics came in second with 324 points (33 first-place votes) and Jamal Crawford, the former 2-time Sixth Man winner, came in third with 131 points (8 first-place votes). The NBA official website, for the second year in a row, has posted the compete media voting results in which you can see which sportswriters were in the panel and who they voted for (which you can view here).

Lou Williams has always been known for being a great spark plug off the bench ever since he came into the league in 2005 with the Philadelphia 76ers. It is nice to see that Williams finally gets the recognition he deserves. The NBA Sixth Man Award debuted during the 1982-83 season in which Bobby Jones of the 76ers won it. Since then, popular players like Manu Ginobili, Jason Terry, J.R. Smith and James Harden have been crowned the NBA’s best sixth man. Congratulations to Lou Williams on winning the award!

Here is the complete breakdown of the final vote tally:



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here