Calipari, Mutombo Among 2015 Hall of Fame Finalists



As reported by Igor Mello of CBS Sports, the Naismith Memorial Hall of Fame named its finalists for the class of 2015 on Saturday. Kentucky’s head coach John Calipari and former NBA big man Dikembe Mutombo are two of the twelve potential inductees.

Finalists need at least 18 of 24 votes from the Honors Committee to be inducted into the Hall. The inductions will happen in August, but the class will be formally announced on April 6 before the NCAA Men’s Finals.

The other ten of the twelve finalists include Leta Andrews (coach), Dick Bavetta (referee), Bill Fitch (coach), Tim Hardaway (player), Spencer Haywood (player), Robert Hughes (coach), Kevin Johnson (player), Lisa Leslie (player), Bo Ryan (coach), and Jojo White (player).

The direct-elected members of the 2015 class include Louie Dampier (ABA Committee), Lindsay Gaze (international committee), John Isaacs (early African pioneers committee), and George Raveling (contributor committee). 

All of the ceremonies will take place in Springfield, Mass, on September 10-11. 



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here